Seeking Book Recommendations for Lent

My bible study group is looking for book recommendations to read this Lent. I thought I’d turn to the community of readers and writers here, in case the insights are helpful to any others considering Lenten reading.

The plan will be to read a few chapters at a time, and meet once a week during Lent to participate in the Stations of the Cross and discuss the book. (Typically when we meet, we read and discuss the Sunday readings together, but we decided to try something different this Lent.) Our group includes Catholics, a Presbyterian, and someone discerning Christianity, all between the ages of 25-35.

What do you recommend? What books have you studied during Lent before that proved fruitful? Why is your recommendation especially fitting for study during Lent? Would it be accessible to Catholics and non-Catholics alike?

Share your suggestions by posting a comment below or on Facebook, or tweeting them to us at @CatholicHow. I thank you in advance, and I know the entire CatholicHow community will be grateful for your insights, too.

7 thoughts on “Seeking Book Recommendations for Lent”

    1. Thank you for sharing this! It looks like the group is going in a different direction, but I’ve added it and a few other of your books to my Amazon wish list. Looking forward to digging in! Many thanks for your suggestion and my prayers for this book to find its way into all the right hands. πŸ™‚

  1. Our Faith Group has decided to use Father Barron’s ‘Seven Deadly Sins, Seven Lively Virtues’ DVD and Study Guide Series for this Lent. We have finished his ‘Catholicism’ and ‘The New Evangelization’ series, both which are wonderful. I highly recommend!

    1. I love Fr. Barron! What a great idea. I hope you find it fruitful and would love to hear more about your thoughts on it as you work through it or after you’ve completed it. The group is going in a different direction, but I would love to do something like this in the future. My prayers are with you and your faith group this Lent — and I ask you to do the same for our little group, too.

  2. Another I’d suggest as good Lenten reading is Dan Harrington’s “Why Do We Suffer? A Scriptural Approach to the Human Condition”. Harrington just passed away recently – he was one of those rare scholars who could frame scriptural themes and concepts to be readily accessible by all.

Leave a Reply

