Required Reading: Whither Goes Authenticity?

From Bronwyn Lea at Relevant Magazine:

Half way into my story, I had a choice to make. How was I going to finish it?

There were many details I could choose from, and not all of them were pretty. I told myself I was being “authentic” to tell the story as I did: highlighting the parts with all the drama and disappointment.

In hindsight, I chose wrongly. My “authentic” story was, in truth, less about telling the truth and more about being vindicated in my audience’s opinion—more about telling a dramatic story with me painted as the long-suffering, good-natured one at the end.

Read more at http://www.relevantmagazine.com/god/practical-faith/there-such-thing-being-too-authentic#U7u0pU0GuXbFTlHM.99

Leave a Reply

