The Best Thing We’ve Read All Day: A New Saint?

The picture was taken on Oct. 7, 1950, by Col. Raymond A. Skeehan. Credit Cary Conover for The New York Times
The picture was taken on Oct. 7, 1950, by Col. Raymond A. Skeehan. Credit Cary Conover for The New York Times

By Matthew Janeczko, OFM Cap.

From Saturday’s New York Times:

“I feel like the dickens,” Kapaun wrote. “Maybe you do not realize fully what it means to be a priest, but I tell you — after I have studied all these years, I am more convinced that a man must be a living saint in order to take that step. And that is where my worries come in. Gee whiz, I have a feeling that I am far, far from being a saint.”

Read it all here.

Leave a Reply

