Guest Post: The Invitation

By Matt Patella, Guest Contributor

If I have to be honest I should say that I do not usually enjoy the initial moments of being around new people, in any setting. I enjoy going to events where I will know everyone and they will know me, I like walking into a bar and knowing the bartender and the other patrons; even in Church I like to be able to identify my friends. I can “fake it” around new people but usually I enjoy seeing the same people and going to the same places. This is a pretty important trait to overcome as a Catholic. In my own spiritual journey the most important moment was the invitation given to me during my freshman year of college to go to Mass on Sunday night. It was given to me from someone who was essentially a stranger: yet I accepted the invitation.

As Catholics we are all called to make this invitation constantly. We are called to grow our Church through our words and our actions. The best way for us to do this on a daily basis is to live a good life and base all of our actions in love. “They will know we are Christians by our love” is not just a catchy song lyric, but a truth. No matter how good we live our lives, at some point we are called to make an invitation to a person to truly reach out and invite someone into the Church. This invitation could be to a Theology on Tap, to Mass, or even just to read your favorite Catholic blog. What stands in the way of asking people to join you in your faith? What stands in the way of asking friends and family to Mass or Adoration? I believe for me it is the fear that they might say no. Yet the joy of acceptance must outweigh our fear.

pic

Matthew Patella is from Long Island where he went to Catholic school. From there he went on to study at The Catholic University of America, then Boston College and is now back at CUA. In between all of that schooling he took a year to serve as a Cap Corps Volunteer in Garrison, NY leading retreats with the Capuchin Province of St. Mary’s. When walking through book stores he has a tendency to end up in the areas devoted to philosophy, politics, and history.  He is a frequent guest contributor to Catholic How.
Leave a Reply

